Menu
 
 
Home | Books | The Executioners

The Executioners

By Philip McCutchan

With a mini-summit coming up, a trip to France is imminent. For Detective Chief Superintendent Shard and his Foreign Office boss, Hedge, this isn’t going to be a delightful trip full of gastronomic delights and the Folies Bergeres…

When the capture of Stanislav Asipov at Heathrow is botched, he gives almost no information – much to the annoyance of the Foreign Office. But when a key witness singles him out, the investigation takes a different turn.

With the investigation drawing him to a commune led by a Texan hippie, Shard infiltrates with a female colleague. But then there are the Avengers of St Petersburg, a group with a deadly grudge against the USSR. Who is to blame? Or is it some other sinister force?

This is an exquisitely-paced crime thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

Philip McCutchan began writing in 1956. Prior to this, he joined the Royal Navy on the outbreak of World War Two as an Ordinary Signalman and ended the war as a lieutenant, having served in destroyers, aircraft carriers, cruisers, a battleships battlecruiser, an armed trawler, and an ocean boarding vessel. For three years after the war he sailed in Orient Liners on the Australian run and then for a time became an assistant master in a preparatory school.

 
also by Philip McCutchan
DONALD CAMERON NAVAL THRILLERS BOX SET COVER

Donald Cameron Naval Thrillers (Books 8–14)

Philip McCutchan
DONALD CAMERON NAVAL THRILLERS 1-7 BOX SET COVER

Donald Cameron Naval Thrillers (Books 1–7)

Philip McCutchan

Kidnap

Philip McCutchan

The Abbot of Stockbridge

Philip McCutchan

The Logan File

Philip McCutchan

Overnight Express

Philip McCutchan

Shard at Bay

Philip McCutchan

The Hoof

Philip McCutchan

Shard Calls the Tune

Philip McCutchan

Blackmail North

Philip McCutchan

The Eros Affair

Philip McCutchan

Blood Run East

Philip McCutchan

A Very Big Bang

Philip McCutchan

Burn Out

Philip McCutchan

The Tom Chatto Naval Adventures

Philip McCutchan

Polecat Brennan

Philip McCutchan

The Spatchcock Plan

Philip McCutchan

The Boy Who Liked Monsters

Philip McCutchan

Greenfly

Philip McCutchan

Rollerball

Philip McCutchan

Werewolf

Philip McCutchan

Corpse

Philip McCutchan

Sunstrike

Philip McCutchan

This Drakotny

Philip McCutchan

Hartinger’s Mouse

Philip McCutchan

Der Rote Diamant

Philip McCutchan

The Bright Red Businessmen

Philip McCutchan

Sadhu, der Rebell

Philip McCutchan

An Vorderster Front

Philip McCutchan

Trommeln am Khyber Pass

Philip McCutchan

The Screaming Dead Balloons

Philip McCutchan

Skyprobe

Philip McCutchan

The Dead Line

Philip McCutchan

Moscow Coach

Philip McCutchan

Warmaster

Philip McCutchan

The Man from Moscow

Philip McCutchan

Bluebolt One

Philip McCutchan

Redcap

Philip McCutchan

Call for Simon Shard

Philip McCutchan

Gibraltar Road

Philip McCutchan

Convoys of War

Philip McCutchan

The New Lieutenant

Philip McCutchan

The Second Mate

Philip McCutchan

Apprentice to the Sea

Philip McCutchan

Convoy Homeward

Philip McCutchan

Sinking Ship

Philip McCutchan

Secret Mission

Philip McCutchan

Prisoner Of War

Philip McCutchan

Hunted

Philip McCutchan

Against All Odds

Philip McCutchan

On Land And Sea

Philip McCutchan

In Command

Philip McCutchan

Ship of Fate

Philip McCutchan

Cold War

Philip McCutchan

Storm of War

Philip McCutchan

Convoy of Fear

Philip McCutchan

A Matter for the Regiment

Philip McCutchan

The Wealth of Nations

Philip McCutchan

Cunningham’s Revenge

Philip McCutchan

The Restless Frontier

Philip McCutchan

Charge of Cowardice

Philip McCutchan

Wolf in the Fold

Philip McCutchan

A Dangerous Game

Philip McCutchan

By Command of the Viceroy

Philip McCutchan

Subaltern’s Choice

Philip McCutchan

The Heart of the Empire

Philip McCutchan

Convoy South

Philip McCutchan

An Act of War

Philip McCutchan

The Lion’s Den

Philip McCutchan

Convoy of War

Philip McCutchan

Soldier of the Raj

Philip McCutchan

Under Orders

Philip McCutchan

Dangerous Waters

Philip McCutchan
 
 
Contact Lume Books | Lume Books
 

Say Hello

Learn more about how to contact us.

This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
 
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.