Home | Books | Secrets in the Heather

Secrets in the Heather

By Gwen Kirkwood

Secrets in the Heather is set in early twentieth century Scotland, where one woman’s life is haunted by a secret.

Little Victoria Pringle, orphaned at birth, has been raised by the woman she believes to be her great-grandmother, in a cottage on the Darlonachie Estate. When Jane McCrady dies, Victoria is offered a home by the Pringle family, tenants of Sir William Crainby, Laird of Darlonachie. The Pringle brothers, especially Andrew, take Victoria under their wing, and she is allowed to work in the kitchens of the castle, once the domain of Mistress McCrady.

But times change in the years after the First World War, and a new generation is holding sway at the castle, both above and below stairs. As Victoria grows into a beautiful young woman, and a talented cook, she faces new choices and opportunities, and must come to terms with a long-buried secret in her past.

Secrets in the Heather is a heartwarming tale of love, set in the beautiful Scottish countryside and featuring a cast of well-drawn characters. It is the first novel in a three-book series of the same name, and is a treat for Gwen Kirkwood’s many fans, as well as readers who enjoy romantic and/or rural fiction.

Buying Options For Secrets in the Heather

amazon Buy from Amazon
Contact Lume Books | Lume Books

Say Hello

Learn more about how to contact us.

This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.