Home | Books | Face in the Sky

Face in the Sky

By John Russell Fearn

English author John Russell Fearn (1908–1960) began his career on classic science fiction pulp magazines. This collection includes six of his early sci-fi stories.

When John Russell Fearn died in 1960, he had published more than 150 books and almost as many magazine stories, under his own name and various pseudonyms. So diverse and diffuse was his output, it was difficult to collect and for a while it seemed Fearn might be forgotten altogether.

Fortunately, his friends and colleagues were not prepared to let this happen, and the current collection is an example of the care with which Fearn’s work has since been curated and republished. Face in the Sky comprises two vintage Fearn novelettes and four short stories. These are: Face in the Sky (1939), Through Earth’s Core (1938), Ultra Evolution (1948), She Walked Alone (1939), Microbes from Space (1939) and The Black Empress (1939).

Collected and with a foreword by Fearn’s biographer, Philip Harbottle, these tales retain the power to astonish and entertain modern readers, especially those interested in classic science fiction.

Contact Lume Books | Lume Books

Say Hello

Learn more about how to contact us.

This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.