Home | Books | Five Windows

Five Windows

By D. E. Stevenson

Where does David belong?

David Kirke’s childhood is sheltered, his nature is gentle and peaceable; he is no hero of romance but a human being with faults and failings which lead him into trouble when he adventures into the world to seek his fortune.

In the background of the story are the hills of home and the noise and bustle of London; in the foreground are the people, alive, vigorous and full of personality, who play their parts in the shaping of David’s life. The canvas is broad and there is space for gaiety and sorrow, for light and shade and for the quiet humour of a man who can laugh at himself.

There are five windows in his life-five phases of experience-and the pattern which is begun at Haines, amongst the border hills, is completed when he looks at the view from the fifth window in his life and sees in the distance, veiled in mist, the city of enchantment…

D. E. Stevenson was born in Edinburgh. Her father was a first cousin of Robert Louis Stevenson. She was educated privately and travelled widely in France and Italy with her parents. She married a major in the Highland Light Infantry and moved with the regiment from place to place gaining valuable experience of life and people.

Contact Lume Books | Lume Books

Say Hello

Learn more about how to contact us.

This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.