Home | Books | Cley


The year is 1968, and Jack Thurgo is about to plunge into marriage.

Before he finally commits himself, he takes a last holiday on his own, cycling to the Norfolk coast.

To a young man alone for the first time in years, life seems full of enjoyable temptations.

Then Jack comes across a fatal car crash in a country lane and recognizes his former boarding school mentor, John Bromley, as the comatose survivor.

Bromley had been a father figure to Jack, replacing the father he lost during World War Two.

But at the hospital, a woman identifies him as Mr. Sindacombe.

Unable to let this go, Jack starts to investigate the matter with a feverish determination bordering on the obsessive.

As his search deepens, he is transported back to his school days when he faced the fearsome Mr. Bromley, at times tempestuous, and yet so often the father Jack never knew.

At the heart of the English countryside, the summer days blur into one while the truth reveals itself…

Cley is a haunting tale exploring the inner workings of family, relationships and the ghosts of our childhood. It is the second book in Harrison’s To Liskead Quartet following on from Richard’s Feet.

Praise for Cley

‘Complex and mysterious‚Ķ a fascinating tale of a man intent on reviving his past and fathoming out his past’ – Today

‘A haunting, remarkable novel.’ – Jonathan Coe, Times Literary Supplement

‘Harrison is a polished and entertaining writer’ – Time Out UK

‘An amusing, weirdly compelling tale‚Ķ often reminiscent of Jack Kerouac’ – New Woman UK

‘Harrison certainly knows how to write dialogue which skims across the page.’ – London Review of Books

Contact Lume Books | Lume Books

Say Hello

Learn more about how to contact us.

This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.