Home | Books | A Masque of Chameleons Joan van Every Frost

A Masque of Chameleons Joan van Every Frost

Roberta DuPlessis was the favourite of a troupe of travelling actors who had carefully looked her after since her mother’s death. 

On the cusp of womanhood however, she was transforming into an exotic beauty, unnoticed by the protective group.

Then in 1844, the troupe toured Mexico…

Roberta soon realised that she had no choice but to grow up fast, meeting many men and encountering revolutionaries.

Distracted by her new lust for the haughtily charming Will, Roberta loses hope, feeling lost in her struggle during the transition into adulthood.

Before long, it becomes clear that Roberta needs to put her innocence aside to overcome the danger that lingers all around them, ignoring this new found lust and passion.

As the group begins to disperse, the future becomes more uncertain. Loneliness smothers Roberta as the closest thing to family she has begins to fall apart…

Through the chaotic Mexican villages, A Masque of Chameleons is a sweeping saga of burning desires and destructible fervour. Will those that are left be able to survive?

Joan Van Every Frost was born in 1929 in California. Her first novel, This Firey Promise was published in 1978 and between that time and her death in 2012, she published several books, including Kings of the Sea in 1972. She was faithful supporter of many charities and wrote several screenplays in addition to her novels.

Contact Lume Books | Lume Books

Say Hello

Learn more about how to contact us.

This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.