Home | News | The Wings of the Wind by Shaun Lewis
Back to archive

The Wings of the Wind is the third in Shaun Lewis’ gripping World War One naval thriller series, following the lives of the Miller family. With immersive historical detail, this instalment portrays the thrills and spills of the early days of naval aviation and the part played by the Royal Navy in the development of armoured fighting vehicles.

Shaun shares some of the history behind The Wings of the Wind below:

The plot for my third novel concerns the Royal Naval Air Service and its Armoured Car Division. Churchill, as First Lord of the Admiralty, was a great proponent of new technology and quickly latched onto the benefits of naval aviation. Whilst the War Office was buying most of its aircraft from a single source, the Royal Aircraft Factory in Farnborough, the Royal Navy had the freedom to buy from private contractors considered the best in their class.  As a result, several types of Sopwith fighter aircraft could be commissioned quickly and the RNAS was called in to protect the RFC’s reconnaissance aeroplanes. Similarly, the RN had the independence to develop mobile machine gun platforms and armoured fighting vehicles in place of cavalry.  

Check out Shaun’s For Those in Peril series here!

Back to archive
This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.