Home | Books | Long Shadows

Long Shadows

By Joanna Cannan

A young author meets a grisly end.

Dawn Meadowes is a star on the rise in the post-war London literary circles. Beautiful, witty and with a best-seller already, she is set to have a glittering career.

When she is found dead, Detective-Superintendent Price and Sergeant Frobisher are tasked with finding the culprit of this crime of passion. A charming girl like Dawn has no shortage of admirers nor, it seems, enemies.

The detective duo quickly narrow down their suspects, but the answers to Dawn’s murder – and the way to stop another death – lie in the past and the stories not published…

Joanna Cannan was born in Oxford in 1898. Prior to writing detective fiction, her books primarily explored the aftermath of World War I and life in England during the Great Depression. In 1932, she settled in rural Oxfordshire with her husband and four children; all four of her children went on to become writers themselves. She began to write fiction for young readers, and published nine books for children between 1936 and 1957. During the same period she wrote two novels featuring Inspector Guy Northeast, They Rang Up the Police (1939) and Death at The Dog (1941); following a nine-year hiatus from detective fiction, she returned to the genre in 1950 with the introduction of Inspector Ronald Price in Murder Included.

Contact Lume Books | Lume Books

Say Hello

Learn more about how to contact us.

This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.