Home | Books | A Country Divided

A Country Divided

By Marjorie Bowen

Three of Marjorie Bowen’s acclaimed historical novels are collected here together for the first time.


Who was the woman Pepys called ‘pretty, witty Nell’?

A chance encounter in Drury Lane begins the famous Nell Gwyn’s stratospheric rise through society, from a lowly orange seller in the pits to the stage where she longs to be. Charles II is instantly drawn to her vivacity and pretty face, so when he sees one of her plays their fates are sealed.

A classic tale of rags to riches, a Cinderella of British history, Nelly’s boldness carried her towards the palaces of a nation, where she helped to guide a King and define his rule.


Oliver Cromwell was one of the most remarkable rulers in European history. One of the leading generals on the parliamentary side in the English Civil War against King Charles I, he was indispensable in the campaign to the overthrow of the Stuart monarchy.

As Lord Protector, Cromwell raised his country’s status back to being one of leading European power, something it had not experienced since the death of Queen Elizabeth I.

In this historical novel, the story of Cromwell’s dealings with Parliament and the King is played out in thrilling excitement and vivid action.


Seventeen-century England.

With the apathetic residents of Eyam not needing much spiritual guidance, Rector William Mompesson is free to enjoy the easy life in the countryside with his family.

But when the Plague arrives – possibly in the crate carrying his sister-in-law’s wedding dress – he faces a great test. As his parishioners die one after another, how can Mompesson reconcile God and the wedding dress?

Set during the tumultuous reign of King Charles II, God and the Wedding Dress is a gripping piece of historical fiction from a prolific author in the genre

Marjorie Bowen was born in 1885 and often wrote under the pseudonym Margaret Gabrielle Vere Campbell Long. She was one of Britain’s most prolific authors of the twentieth century. Writing was more than just a hobby: her works were the primary source of financial support for her family. Between 1906 and her death in 1952, Bowen wrote over 150 books, garnering much acclaim for her popular histories and historical and Gothic romances. Alongside masterful descriptions and concise, efficient prose, she deftly rendered larger-than-life subjects in the minds of her readers. To this day, aficionados of the genres covet Bowen’s work. Her other titles include The Sword Decided, Mary Queen of Scots, The Queen’s Caprice, The Governor of England, Mistress Nell Gwyn and Dickon.

Contact Lume Books | Lume Books

Say Hello

Learn more about how to contact us.

This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.